News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

French Leclerc

I am no expert on tanks, far from it. I am new here and saw this section so thought this may be a good subject of discussion for you tank "experts".

Edited by TerryG

Close up of the board giving some basic explanation....it did make me smile....a French tank....in a French museum.....mind you, in their defence, the sign is dated 1993, so a long time ago!

Edited by TerryG

• 4 weeks later...

Hi,

Yes i'm French, yes the Leclerc is French, and i know what you will say...

The sign is 1993, the Leclerc wasn't on duty on 1993...it was only tested... from the first in duty in 1998 and now it is the 7 th generation.Leclerc in Kosovo in 99 and 2000 were first and second generation.

Actually the Leclerc is the ONLY battle tank able to fire on move at 60 km/h with more than 98% of succes on target...

Leopard, Challenger (and they are also good tank)... are able to fire on move but at very low speed ...many other point to discuss...

beer.gif

Herl

A war is a poor place to test a tank. The capabilities had best be understood and integrated well before the vehicle and its crew are placed in harm's way.

The Leclerc has a very nice profile and I must admit to having a weakness for a gyrostabilized gun platform.

Edited by Bob Hunter

• 1 year later...
    • 7 months later...

I sure hope that if the AMX-56 Leclerc is ever used in combat that they up-armour that very dodgy looking glacis plate. If not it's RPG target practice :speechless1:

Regards Eddie