News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Legion of Honor-Officer

Tim B

• Replies 67
    • Created
    • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Hello,

Yes, it appears to be a very nice luxury model. I do not own the piece, it's listed on an auction site, but the seller had it listed as WWI with some other items. I have sent him some information, but I don't think he cares to change it at this point. I just asked as I am still learning on the French and Belgian awards.

Many thanks again!

Tim

Tim

To be quite acurate, this type was introduced on 29 Feb. 1951 when the date "1870" was removed fom the obverse medallion and replaced by a star. In 1951, the Fourth Republic had been established for several years (1948).

The same type was used in until November 28th 1962, when the reverse medallion receved the added date : "29 FLOREAL AN X" (April 29th 1802) which was the founding date of the Order.

The Fourth Republic became the Fifth Republic in 1958.

This type should probably be discribed as "late Fourth Republic / early Fifth Republic" or more acurately "1951-1962 type".

In this way the exact and very short period during which it was in use is properly described.

The previous "IIIrd Republic" type was used from September 1870 until February 1961, the longest ever, covering also the "Vichy Regime" and early IVrth Republic.

The present type has now been in use for nearly half a century.

Regards

Veteran

Thank you for that! That information is good to know and I'm sure will help anyone trying to timeline different French pieces.

This is a very nice piece and I can see quality really went into making it, but I am "trying" to keep my collection to military and prior to the end of WWII. So tempting sometimes. :shame:

Cheers! :cheers:

Tim

• 3 weeks later...