News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

LCpl F. Stober, MM and Bar, SA Sharpshooters, WW1

W

I have posted some details on this unit in previous posts and this is the third group that I have the privilege to be custodian of.

I am busy with deliberate research on the unit and every individual that joined and is listed as being part of this very elite unit.

Lance Corporal Frederick Stober joined the South African (Baileys) Sharpshooters on the 27th of June 1916. He was 37 years old and had passed the very stringent selection to become a member of this illustrious unit. Stober was born in Claremont in Cape Town. A carpenter by trade, he was a resident of Kenilworth, Cape Town at the time of his attestation. He was married to Maria Stober and their ceremony had taken place on 10 June 1904 in Calvinia in the Cape Province. The couple had five children with the last child having been born in October, 1916.

He is described as having being sallow with dark hazel eyes and stood at 5 feet and 8 inches. His weight was given as 144 pounds on attestation.

Stober had seen active service during the Anglo-Boer War and was Trooper No 606 in Warrens Mounted Infantry. He joined on the 27th of June 1901 and remained part of the unit until 19 July 1901. It was during this period that he encountered a very serious bout of enteric fever. After recovering, he joined the South African Light Horse as No 36288 Corporal Stober and served until 13 May 1902 when he left as time expired.

As No 20 in the South African Sharpshooters, he joined the 1st Northamptonshire Regiment on 1 December 1916. His service as a scout/sniper was duly recognised and he was awarded the Military Medal and Bar in accordance with the London Gazettes that were dated 13 and 17 March 1919 respectively.

The arduous life and exposure to the elements had a major negative effect on Stobers health: