News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

St. George Cross, 5th class; and the Order of St. Anna, 5th class during early 1800s

rnelsonlv

I am enquiring about a Swedish soldier named Carl Gadd (1784-1857) and three medals he is thought to have earned during the Napoleonic Wars, two from the imperial Russian government. The Swedish award is an undefined medal for bravery in the field. From the Russians he is listed as having received the St. George Cross, 5th class; and the Order of St. Anna, 5th class. (more details below). This seems to me rather extraordinary, but perhaps not as I am not an expert in such militaria.

I have looked up the basic info on wikipedia, but would appreciate further details. For example, are there indexes or other archival records referencing those awarded such medals, serial numbers, etc.

He is listed in the Swedish Central Soldiers Register in the 54 Kalmar regiment Fagerhults parish and Horna rotation ("Centrala Soldatregistret vid LIV Kalmar regemente för Fagerhults socken och Horna rote"). On the General Muster Rolls for 1806 it seems he was in Pomerania. Of the roll from 1817, Carl had a farewell after 14 years as a soldier. It notes he has been awarded a medal for bravery in the field. ("Av Generalmönsterrullorna för 1806 verkar han var i Pommern. Av rullan frÃ¥n 1817 framgÃ¥r att Carl fÃ¥tt avsked efter 14 Ã¥r som soldat. Han har fÃ¥tt medalj för tapperhet i fält.")

It seems he was dismissed as a decorated soldier with the Imperial Russian St. George Cross in 5th class and a Bravery Medal. ("avskedande, med Kejserliga Ryska S:t Georgkors i 5te klassen och en Tapperhetsmedalj decorerade Soldaten Carl Peter Gadd.")

Other notes: