News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Why are Imperial Navy headgear so hard to find?

Seriously, does anyone have a logical explanation for this? In 15 years of collecting I have only seen a good half dozen in private collections. Even good honest original Kriegsmarine caps can be had for a price if you really want one.

Well, just reply if you have any good information to add. Cheers! -Ron

:catjava:

Ron,

If you are talking about officer's headgear, I agree. There is not much to be had. I have been collecting for over 40 years and these have been tough to find as long as I can remember. I was fortunate enough to get some issue enlisted caps, but that was years ago. Enlisted caps are available from time to time, as I am sure you know, but those are normally the private purchase pieces that you normally see in period studio photos. All this time, I have been looking for a gray enlisted man's cap to no avail.

It makes me wonder, with three naval divisions serving on the Western Front, just where all of this stuff went. Obviously, none of it was brought back to America, as the AEF did not serve in that area. So I guess that any souvenirs ended up in English or Belgian hands.

Regards,

Chip

Thank you for your reply Chip!

Indeed it really puzzles me to no end. There are plenty of blue sailor caps to go around (less grey or white ones to be sure), and a good amount of officer daggers if you don't mind spending 2-3000.00. But officer coats and caps just seem to be MIA.

You need a WSS visor? no problem if you have thousands of dollars. Need a good KM cap? a little bit more difficult for a few grand.

And another thing while I am at it. There also seems to be a good numer of Imperial Naval cockades out there too if you don't mind spending 2-300.00 :speechless:

Well, perhaps someone else can shed some light on the subject but I don't honestly see a reason for the shortage.