News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Assault vests

I have noticed that prices on original Second World War assault vests are quite high. Depending on the make and model, I have seen them go for as little as $500, or as much as $4,000. Given that these rose in popularity after movies like Saving Private Ryan came out, what is their availability right now? They were not common before the collecting boom, and surely they are at a premium today. What would those with more experience in this area think a fair maximum price would be for a genuine U.S. assault vest?

Capstone

Beware there are a fair number of reproductions of these vests out there. Some prop vest from the movie Saving Private Ryan are also being sold as originals but I believe these are marked SPB. Unless there is a proven provenance I'd steer away fromt these. Kevin

No problem - I worked as a volunteer in an Army museum several years back and there was no shortage of dealers trying to sell the museum "D-Day worn" Assault vests. Same with WWII paratrooper items, there are high quality reproductions of the uniforms, boots, and even parachutes. Kevin

I specialize in Second World War American headgear, especially the M1 helmet. I have seen many paratrooper helmets that I could have sworn were genuine, only to turn out to be cleverly aged and faked. Not much gets past my eye, but there are still those that are nearly perfect.

Probably my favorite authenticity test is the "smell" test. There is just no substitute for the smell of an original piece of equipment. It is nearly impossible to replicate the smell as well.