News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Meissen made German Commemorative Medallions

Hi there,

I just picked up a Meissen made (famous German ceramics and pottery maker) commemorative medal for the conquer of France and Paris 1940. On the obverse? is a tank coming over a hill with a swaztika above it and the inscription around the edges "Zur Erinnerung an den Feldzug in Frankreich" with crossed swords at the bottom. On the reverse is a picture of the Eiffel tower with Luftwaffe planes flying past and the inscription "Einnahme von Paris 14. Juni 1940" around the outer edge. I am sorry about having no pic, I will try to get a scan over to my friend to post the pic for me. It is made of a reddy-brown clay ceramic? (I am not an expert in this field) like the one posted earlier on the forum for the capture of Singapore.

I am basically just looking to see if anyone else has one of these to post for this specific medallion or any of the Meissen made ceramic non-portable medals made to commemorate Axis military victories. Also, any information about these awards is very helpful and I was wondering if these are faked often, and maybe how to tell a fake if there are many.

Cheers and lets see your examples!

Pat

Many thanks Larry!

Thanks for posting the pics of my Meissen made red clay medallion for the campaign in France. Can anyone help out as to determining authenticity and with more background info on these pieces? ANy help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Pat