News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

1914 Mons Star Group

I saw the posting on the 1914 Mons star and remembered I had a group that included one. I have no knowledge of British medals but have purchased them over the years when they appealed to me. My main interest is American, Japanese, and Russian medal groups.

All except the first medal are named to 8400 Ser JT G. F. Young R.F.A. The medals have been mounted on a piece of cardboard for display.

I noticed that some Mons stars had the AUG banner between the swords and some did not have it. What is the difference?

When I have time I will post some other medals that I have.

Regards

Jim

If it has the August/November scrolls it is a 1914 Star. If it does not, it is a 1914-15 Star. Different medals.

Nice group, by the way! It will be interesting to learn how an enlisted man got a OBE (gilt, right?). Or did he get commissioned during the war?

I have never researched any British medal or medal groups that I have. Now that I am retired I will have to learn how to do that now that I am able to spend some time this facet of my collecting.

So what I am saying is that I have absoutly no information on this individual.

Guess this group is a good place to learn how to do research on British Medals. My main collecting field is American, Russian, and Japanese medals.

Regards

Jim

If it has the August/November scrolls it is a 1914 Star. If it does not, it is a 1914-15 Star. Different medals.

Nice group, by the way! It will be interesting to learn how an enlisted man got a OBE (gilt, right?). Or did he get commissioned during the war?

Certainly a nice group and well worth researching.

Just checked the NA; Francis George Young is down as a BQMS and later Lieutenant http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documen...p;resultcount=1

James, it'll be well worth the ?3.50 to download his MIC.

Tony