Jump to content
Gentleman's Military Interest Club

Recommended Posts

No two separate Divisions.
A Division in the Metropolitan Police originally covered Whitehall, Buckingham Palace & Pimlico area's. It used to also signify officers who were assigned to ceremonial duties and Royal Palace duties.
A Division in the City covers a small geographical area of the City of London I know this has changed over the years with the closing of stations so it depends what period you are looking at.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

The City has made several changes to the number and name of its divisions through out its history. At the time of Jack the ripper there were six divisions numbered 1 to 6. Mitre Square I think came under Bishopsgate police station but what divisions that was numbered as I am not 100% sure (possibly 5th div). Prior to WW1 it was merged into 4 divisions "A" Division Moor Lane, "B" Division, Snow Hill, "C" Division Bishopsgate, and "D" Division Cloak Lane. Towards the end of WW2 due to the amount of bomb damage to Moor Lane A division was merged into the other divisions.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now