News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Gents

Had a bit of a surprise today. It's a bit of a story but hang in as I need some help.

One of my other half's relatives is taking herself of to a home for the elderly as she's alone now and can't look after herself. We visited today and during the visit she says to me "oh there's my (now deceased) husband's dad's medals in the box there have a look". So inside are three medals - now I'm no medal expert hence this post - there are two WW1, an allied victory medal and british war medal and another that I didn't know that well but it's (I think) a General Service Medal with a young Victoria on the obverse. This one has seven (yes count them) seven clasps. I can only remember Vittoria, Pyrenees, Nivelle, Toulouse but there were seven.

I believe this is a serious piece of metal and although she wasn't about to part with it (I did try), I would like to let her know just what she may have and what it may be worth.

Can you guys help? I've no pictures but I suppose I could get them if needed when we visit next.

Thanks in advance

Spaz

This post has been promoted to an article

I wouldn't publish her full name or address, or you'll find one of our British collectors climbing over her back hedge! Sounds like a very impressive piece. I'll be happy to keep it safe for her if you like.

Hugh

Hugh

I would be glad to do that as well now that it seems as though it's a serious piece of metal. I'll be letting her know next time I go on just how serious.

Spaz

Edited by Spasm