News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

WW2 Gebirgsjäger Boots - How to soften the leather ?

Purchased a pair of Gebirgsjäger boots a couple of weeks ago, condition is good, although the leather boot tops are hard and stiff. I intend to rub a coat of dubbin over the boots, leave to soak for a week, then reapply another coat of dubbin and so on until the leather softens. I've never tried this before, thought it best to check it out in case I'm doing anything wrong or perhaps members have a better suggestion. Any information welcome.

Regards

Believe it or not, an old army trick was to fill the leather boots with err . . . .human urine . . . no, I am not taking the Pee. :cheeky:

The boots would need to be laced up, filled up and left to soak for about 2 - 4 weeks,

then washed out with warm soapy water

then a light mixture of

dettol - domestos to kill off any wiff, if still stiff a second application of pee,

then the boots would need to be packed with old news-paper to absorb any remaining moisture,

then allowed to dry at room temperature, well away from any heat source such as a radiator as it would shrink and crack

the leather, once dried out a stiff bruising, then a liberal application of dubbing or leather fett to all the upper area.

For the soles, a good stiff brushing, a light sandpapering to the cleats, then a very light application of dubbing,

stand on a pile of old newspapers till the leather absorbs the excess dubbing.

Do not be tempted to apply wd40 as this can eat into the leather material.

Kevin in Deva. :beer:

Thank you Kevin,