News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Sometimes a huge rack of fruit salad means something

Dave Danner

As a tonic to our sometimes too often expressed cynicism about how the various services give out lots of ribbons and medals for very little, and for the hell of it, how about some of guys whose racks speak to more than "I graduated basic training and didn't get lost for three years."

First up, ...

• Replies 57
    • Created
    • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• 1 month later...

This is a 2 star army general I bought over the weekend-@ 1921 I reckon: 2 years overseas and a LOT of awards-especially for those days. Anyone know who he is?

Edited by Ulsterman

Guest Rick Research

What's that "H" shoulder patch?

Nevvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvver mind = "Hawaiian Department," approved January 10, 1922.

The top ribbon is for the Distinguished Service Medal, since 1844 were awarded from 1918 to 1926 this isn't gonna be easy. The rest of the ribbons on the first and second rows look to be campaign medals. The bottom rows look like foreign awards, I spy a rosette or two in there.

Finding a list of Hawaiian Department Commanders will produce names, finding said list isn't easy.

The US Army began transitioned to the open collar in 1926, so this Major General will pre-date that.

Edited by David S

Finding a list of Hawaiian Department Commanders will produce names, finding said list isn't easy.

Finding a list is easy; finding good pictures may not be. Interwar commanding generals in Hawaii:

Brig. Gen. John W. Heard 1918-1919

Brig. Gen. Henry C. Hodges, Jr. 1919

Maj. Gen. Charles G. Morton 1919-1921

Maj. Gen. Charles P. Summerall 1921-1924

Maj. Gen. Charles T. Menoher 1924-1925

Maj. Gen. Edward M. Lewis 1925-1927

Maj. Gen. William R. Smith 1927-1928

Maj. Gen. Fox Conner 1928-1930

Maj. Gen. Edwin G. Winans 1930

Maj. Gen. William Lassiter 1930-1931