Bernhard H.Holst

Saxony
Medals precedence, Saxon/Prussian

6 posts in this topic

Hello.

From time to time one sees that recipients of Saxon or Bavarian decorations give their own state's medals precedence over Prussian ones.

Here is an example of a Saxon recipient of the Silver St.Henry -and the Silver Friedrich August medals as well as the Prussian Iron Cross II.cl.giving his state's medals precedence.

Bernhard H. Holst

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My understanding is that - in real time (During the Empire) - the citizens of both Bavaria and Saxony were authorized to do just that - give honor of place to their respective kingdoms. Now - it would be interesting to speculate on a Saxon citizen assigned to a Prussian unit. Some how - I suspect that even if he could, he would not follow that that precedence...

Hello.

From time to time one sees that recipients of Saxon or Bavarian decorations give their own state's medals precedence over Prussian ones.

Here is an example of a Saxon recipient of the Silver St.Henry -and the Silver Friedrich August medals as well as the Prussian Iron Cross II.cl.giving his state's medals precedence.

Bernhard H. Holst

attachicon.gifimg410.jpg attachicon.gifimg411.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd like to show a saxon medal bar with an unusual order.

Regards

Alex

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

well a post 1934 order. Once the HK x was promulgated, were not other state medals placed after Prussian ones? wONDERFUL St. Henry's medal!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Of course but this is not what I mentioned. The StHM is on the third position not on the second where it should be.

Regards

Alex

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There was a tendency among some people to interpret literally "in the order received."

There was alos some confusion right after the Hindenburg Cross came out about it going ahead of everything but "Iron Cross" ribbons as a "Reichs" award.

These mistakes are not uncommon because of too narrowly attempting to get the rules "right" and ending up... wrong!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now