News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Police Sergeant John Charles Grimwood - Met Police

Some of you may know, that along with one or two others on here, I am a volunteer researcher with the British Transport Police History Group.

Recently one of my colleagues completed the first stage of a project to identify the constituent forces of the present day British Transport Police, so far 237 forces have been identified and evidence discovered to prove their existence. These include railway, dock and canal police and, even considered by the project manager to be strange, the police force for the London General Omnibus Company.

Over the last few days, the great grandson of one of these officers contacted our History Group and gave information about John Charles Grimwood who was one of their Inspectors. He also sent us a scan of a remarkable group photo of some 120 officers of the force taken in 1921.

We know that John Charles Grimwood was a Met PC from the 1891 census and living in Bloomsbury, London. From the 1901 census he was a PS living in Camberwell. On the 1911 census he was a police pensioner and lived in Hampstead. He was born in 1866 in Lincolnshire.

We have told our informant, who lives in Australia that we would provide further information.

Is anyone able to help with his Met Police history please?

Thanks

Steve

John Charles Grimwood joined the Met as a constable on the 16th February 1885, warrant number 70100, and was posted to E Division (Holborn). He left the Met on the 21st February 1910 while serving on S Division (Hampstead) as a station sergeant (SPS).

National archives MEPO 4/343/169 (leavers register) refs.

He received the 1887 Jubilee medal while serving as a constable on E Division and the 1897 bar while serving as a sergeant on P Division (Camberwell). He received the 1902 coronation medal while serving as a sergeant on S Division (Hampstead).