News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

German awards to Turkish Military

chuck

Hello, 

Is it possible for a Turkish Officer to be awarded a Prussian order? I acquired a Prussian crown order 3rd class with swords (Gold) on a trip to Istanbul. Unfortunately the gentlemen selling the order was more knowledgeable on the price of gold which is why he was selling the order. I understand there were very few awards in world war 1 of this specific order to Germans.

Thank you greatly for all replies,

Chuck

Front_20150806.jpg

Chuck, the short answer is "yes" - the Prussian Order of the Crown could be awarded to foreign officers, including Turks.  For example, Kemal Atatürk was awarded the 1st Class order. 

That's about all I can say since I am not an expert in the Order.  You may not have caught the eye of the German ODM experts since this is in the Turkey forum.  I will put a link in the German sub-forum and hopefully it will catch an expert's eye and opinion.

Regards

• 4 weeks later...

Hello, 

Is it possible for a Turkish Officer to be awarded a Prussian order? I acquired a Prussian crown order 3rd class with swords (Gold) on a trip to Istanbul. Unfortunately the gentlemen selling the order was more knowledgeable on the price of gold which is why he was selling the order. I understand there were very few awards in world war 1 of this specific order to Germans.

Thank you greatly for all replies,

Chuck

Front_20150806.jpg

Ciao Chuck,

in this german Forum there is a thread with a photo from a turkish officer

http://h2385226.stratoserver.net/wbb3/board3-epochenforum/board5-deutsche-orden-ehrenzeichen-auszeichnungen-bis-1918/64587-türk-offizier-mit-dt-orden/?highlight=türkische

his is wearing several classes from the Roter Adler Orden

Kind regards
    Andreas

Hi Chuck,

I´ve found an award document for the Royal Crown Order 3rd Class with