News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Commandant Special Constabulary

Hello everyone. 

I'm new to this forum and this is my first post.

Some time back I purchased a Defense Medal and George VI Special Constabulary Medal to Commandant Roland Walter Perrott.

My question is: what level of rank is a Commandant in the Special Constabulary? Was it quite senior? Mr Perrott was a Solicitor by profession 

and was Mayor of Neath (which i believe is in Wales) in 1950-51.

Can anyone tell me what the rank of Commandant was equivalent to in the regular police. Also any further information on Roland Walter Perrott would be appreciated.

Thank you.

• 3 weeks later...
    On 2/23/2016 at 04:56, David Vivian said:

Hello everyone. 

Can anyone tell me what the rank of Commandant was equivalent to in the regular police. Also any further information on Roland Walter Perrott would be appreciated.

Thank you.

I don't think it's got an equivalent rank per say to a regular police officer. I think there more with regards to administration of the Special Constabulary. For example a Commandant wouldn't attend an incident take command and control, if say there was a regular Inspector on scene, or indeed a regular constable for that matter. However they are a big wheel in the Special Constabulary world, if that makes sense? 

9 hours ago, bigjarofwasps said:

I don't think it's got an equivalent rank per say to a regular police officer. I think there more with regards to administration of the Special Constabulary. For example a Commandant wouldn't attend an incident take command and control, if say there was a regular Inspector on scene, or indeed a regular constable for that matter. However they are a big wheel in the Special Constabulary world, if that makes sense? 

Thanks for your reply. So Commandant wasn't so much a rank but more of a position.