News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Maj. D. P. Sommerville - research help

Hi all -- I am trying to learn about Donald Passmore Sommerville who servied with the Royal Scots from 1953 through at least 1979.  I've found him in what resources I have available online - the Gazette which details his promotions and the 1966 Army List.

I would like to request more records and learn which unit he served with in Korea (I would assume the 1st Royal Scots) and what he did later.  I have his battle dress blouse which is partially complete and has the 1st R.S. tartan and Korea/UN medal ribbons.  I can see where the rank of Major was removed from the shoulder straps, R.S. collar insignia once was, and where the Lowland Brigade patch was beneath the R.S. tartan.

It would be nice if he was still alive, but I have no idea how to find him as I am still new to researching veterans of the U.K.  I believe he was born in 1934 and married in 1960 to Elizabeth Capel, both events in England, though, so I'm not 100% sure it is him if he served with the Royal Scots in the T.A.

I'd either like to write to him if he is alive or request his service records with permission from next of kin or if he passes over 25 years ago I suppose they will release the information I need.  But, I can find no record of his death or residence.

Thanks,

Robert

Robert,

Your Man is shown on the Ancestry UK file,  British Army Lists 1882 - 1962 and listed as Captain D.P. Somerville, The Royal Scots. Note only one M in the Surname which may assist with other searches you are conducting.  I see in your text above you have him the 1966 List so this File may contain other information. Unfortunately the record is a Fold 3 Image on Ancestry which I do not have access to, perhaps someone else on the Forum who does have access may be able to assist further.

Regards Simon

Edited by coldstream