News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Researching Met Police Coronation Medal Trio P.C. W. Bell D Division

Hello Everyone!

I am a retired Canadian Police Officer and a British Victorian Militaria and British/Canadian Police antique memorabilia collector .  I was recently fortunate enough to purchase a very nice Metropolitan Police 1897 - 1902 - 1911 Coronation Medal Trio on original ribbons named to PC W. Bell  D Division for my British Police collection which will be most proudly displayed.

I am a complete novice when it comes to do any medal research and was wondering if any forum members could give me some guidance on researching PC Bell's police service in the Met?  Thinking without a regimental number with such a common surname it might be a bit challenging.

I imagine that with the discipline the Met police was noted for - the  criteria would have been quite strict for receiving such awards (as to conduct with no disciplinary defaults) so I am very interested in learning as much as can be located about PC Bell's service.   Also might anyone know the general criteria for qualifying for these medals?

Any information would be most welcome and greatly appreciated.

Thanks and kindest regards from across the pond.     Bruce

Metropolitan Police Coronation Medal  Trio photo 1.jpg

Metropolitan Police Coronation Medal  Trio photo 2.jpg

Bruce,

There was only one Constable W. BELL serving in "D" Division during the period covered by the medals. His Warrant No:- was 78129. His first name was William. He joined the Metpol. on 21st November 1892 and was posted to "D" Division. He retired on pension as a Constable on 13th November 1920. He spent the whole of his service in "D" Division (Marylebone sometimes referred to as St. Marylebone).  I hope this is helpful.

Dave.

Wow Dave that was the quickest bit of information that I have ever received!