News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Research Order of the Great Patriotic War #130658

Afternoon Gents.

Some of you may remember that, on the advice of members here, I had some research done on pieces in my collection. I am a beginner to this, and despite having bought a few Russian phrasebooks, it's hard going!

Here is the paperwork for a OGPW 1st I own - I can see that he also won the 2nd class, and another order - which one I'm not sure? If anyone can help with translating all this and giving me some info on the man's story, I would be most grateful.

Cheers,

Gilbert

Edited by deptfordboy

Hi Gilbert,

unfortunately i can only help with the awards on the award card.

He got

Order of the Red Star Nr. 598.701 on 5.7.44

Order of the GPW 1st class Nr. 130.658 on 24.2.45

Order of the GPW 2nd class Nr. 480.236 on 7.5.45

I hope, Rick or one of our russian members can help you further...

best,

Gerd

I know the feeling, Gilbert. So many wondrous things must be there, but . . . .

This is one reason I usually ask the Honoured Researcher to prepare a translation -- it will at least be a start!

Edited by Ed_Haynes

1. Last Name:

2. First Name, Middle Name: Wladimir, Aleksjewitsch

3. Military Rank:

4. Sex: male

5. Year of Birth: 1920

6. Place of birth:

7. Party Membership:

8. Education: secondary

9. Nationality: russian

10. Service in the Civil War, in later Battles in Service of the USSR and in

the Great Patriotric War (when and where): in Red Army since 1939

11. Place of Service and position occupied when awarded: 1266 Rife Regiment belong to 385 Rifle Division

12. Current place of Service and position:

13. Home address: Stadt xxx , Stra?e Grusinskaja 12b Wohnung 8

14. Awards:

Order of the Red Star Nr. 598.701 - 5.7.44

Order of the GPW 1st class Nr. 130.658 - 24.2.45

Order of the GPW 2nd class Nr. 480.236 - 7.5.45