News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

A simple request when posting fakes

Although I have been collecting Imperial German for awhile I am far from an expert. I have a simple request that when you post a fake ribbon bar or medal bar or decoration that you explain why you think it is fake. That way all of us can learn.

Complete agreement. And I think this applies to all sub-areas of the wider forum.

The idea is for us all to learn, not just to grant self-important unsupported Olympian judgments and feel better about the size of our expertise. The only potential problem is that while we all learn, the fake-makers have the chance to learn too. That is a risk we ought to be prepared to take, I think.

They day you stop learning, you aren't what is called an "expert", you are what is called "dead".

Her,hear.

Also, if possible-use weights. I am tired of seeing "Is this real?" posts of objects which often look ok and later find out they were made of aluminum and well painted (etc.). There are a Lot of great fake artists in the art world and not a few (still) in obscure corners of Nuministics. Weights and measurements sometimes tell 75% of an objects' story.

Weights and measurements sometimes tell 75% of an objects' story.

True, but isn't this more relevant when things are centrally produced than when (for example, Geman ODM) they are made by any old jeweler with no particular concern for details and specifications beyond general appearance.

I like weights, even if I haven't found them very useful

and I wonder how many people have accurate scales,

probably less than those who have blacklights

which I find more useful, as there seem to be

a number of people putting together "old" ribbon bars & medal groups

Edited by redcross