News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Zimbabwe

IVB

Sash & Star - Zimbabwe Order of Merit, Civil Division, Grand Commander or 1st Class.

Medals:

Red ribbon, narrow black, yellow & green edge stripes: Liberation Medal in silver (there was also a bronze one) awarded for services towards the creation of the republic of Zimbabwe in 1980.

Black central stripe with red, yellow and green outer stripes: Independence Medal in silver (again there was also a bronze version), created in 1980 to celebrate formal independence as Zimbabwe and awarded as desired by the Prime Minister.

Last one MAY be the Liberation Decoration, but I have no further information on that.

I think the collar is the badge of office of the Presidency, but I have no reference picture to back up my opinion.

Lovely pics, thanks IVB.

Edited by Megan

Megan

It is the Liberation Decoration. Somewhere I have a Zimbabwe Govt Gazette with the names of a few hundred recipients and i think ive also got a copy of the warrant with issue criteria. Collecting Zim medals for over 15 years I have noted that this a scarce and generally hard to find medal. The one in my collection is not numbered or named and i think this was the case for most of them.

Richard

It is nice - Mr. M. ,as the head of the state, is wearing his orders in the wrong direction :speechless:

Look at the officer at the right - he`s wearing a correct bar.

The order of precedence is:

- Liberation Decoration

- Liberation Medal

- Independence Medal.

I`ve got a small booklet "Zimbabwean Honours and Awards 1981"

greetings

eitze

Already shown somewhere here, but again for the new gentlemen in this thread.

Group to 19183 Constable/ Sergeant J.M. Masoli - BSAP/Zimbabwe Police Force:

- Independence Medal (No. 01575)

- X Year Service Medal (SGT)

- Rhodesia GSM (CST)

greetings

eitze

What was the Liberation decoration given for?