News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Recent CDV acquisition; unfortunately, I do not have scanning capability so quality is poor. My first real attempt at trying to determine clues from a photo; so, lots of guessing in my "analysis."

I can at least identify this as a Prussian artilleryman based upon his pickelhaube (front eagle and ball top).

Rank: I am not an expert on this, but based also on the pickelhaube front eagle (under magnifying glass) I am reasonably sure he is not an officer - my guess an NCO - but what grade?

Regiment: On his shoulder boards I seem to make out the number "18" - and no other marks (again using that magnifying glass). So, my guess is "Feldartillerie Regiment General Feldzeugmesiter Nr. 18 (2. Brandenburgisches)" - but again, I am no expert.

Circumstantial evidence: Photo studio is on card as "Emil Roitsch - Eibau in. S" - determined to be a known photo studio in Eibau, Saxony. My basic internet "research" has the 18th Regiment being based in Frankfurt/Oder. Now those two cities are not all that far from one another; so plausible that this fellow went home to Saxony to marry his sweetheart.

Other hints: He's wearing for sure an EK2.

May not be able to confirm my guesses, but does anyone have evidence to at least blow my guesses out of the water?

Guest Rick Research

3 button cuffs on material like that indicate Foot Artillery (Fu?artillerie). Field artillery had square cuffs with two side by side buttons.

He appears to be a Gefreiter-- all I can see is a rank button on his collar with no higher NCO collar and cuff braid.

Rick - on the original, I can clearly see that his collar is one solid dark color (no lace that I can see - I did read about the collar lace for NCOs).

The square of material to the rear of the sleeve cuff - behind the buttons - is a similar dark color as the collar.