News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Beautiful Polish medal in presentation case. What is it?

This is a very beautiful commemorative medal I have in the collection, but I don't know anything about it, nor can I find anything online. Can someone enlighten me as to what specifically it is? Has anyone seen one before?

Mike

Hi Mike. I'm not an expert but I did some translation and research and this is what I've come up with. I may be wrong but hoping I'm at least in the ballpark:

Sztandor PSP wraca do kraju = Banner PSP returns to the country

NOTE: PSP stands for - Polskie Sily Powietrzne (Polish Air Forces)

Medal Pamiatkowy dla = Memorial medal for

z okazji = the occassion

Swiatowego = The World

Zjazdu Lotnikow Polskich = Congress of Polish Airmen

komitet organizacyjny = Organizing Committee

Warizawa - Deblin 3-7 September 1992

So it seems that this was a memorial medal to commemorate the occassion of the return of a Polish Airforce banner to Dublin to Warsaw Poland from the 3rd to the 7th of September 1992. I'm assuming both the event and the medal were produced by the organizing committee of the world congress of Polish airmen.

Silly question but is there anything on the reverse? Or perhaps on the top of the case?

Here are some pics and info I found on the return of banners/flags from a Polish Air Force squadron... if you click on some of the links you can see the pics:

http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=pl&u=http://odkrywca.pl/pokaz_watek.php%3Fid%3D450591&ei=nvoUS8nPFIS8ngf1rtziBg&sa=X&oi=translate&ct=result&resnum=2&ved=0CBEQ7gEwAQ&prev=/search%3Fq%3DSztandar%2BPSP%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DX

Anyhow I hope I'm at least near the mark on this. I've got to head to work but if no one else responds when I return I'll see if I can dig up anything else.

Oh, and the eagle with the wreath pictured on the medal is a Polish pilots badge. Here are some examples: