News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Navy Cross, Silver Star - Opinions?

Hugh

The widow of a dear friend has just given me these medals. I've been collecting for 50 years, but never US. I'd love to get opinions on these medals including authenticity and period of manufacture / issue. I'll follow the overall image with closeups.

I have no indication that these were a group; indeed, the oak leaf cluster on the Silver Star shows that they couldn't have been. I suspect he just got each of them singly.

Looking forward to your comments.

Judging by the pad in the case and the crimp brooch LI-GI marked, I would say the Navy Cross is 70s at least , if not 1980s. I cant tell the SS without the reverse, but I would guess the same.

Tony

Thanks to all of you for these comments. Just to clarify, I have no idea whether the box came with any of the medals. Unfortunately, Don's collection was not documented. Similarly, I have no idea whether the minis are related to the full sized medals.

I do know that he collected over a fairly short period of time, from about 1978 to the mid-'80's at the latest. Looking at Scotplen's post:

Navy cross Post wwii 1970-1980s

SS wwii era

I interpret that to mean that the medals were produced anywhere from World War II up to the mid '80's. (I'd love to know what specifically about the brooch tells you that, and what the preceding and following brooches look like, and when introduced.) Because of the period of his collection activity, together with the unlikelihood that he was able to obtain them within a year or two after award, I suspect they are WW II, Korea or Viet Nam pieces. (The brooches look just like my own medals, which date from Cuban Missile Crisis, Viet Nam era.)