News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Dug Up Weapons - WWI

MG1918

Hope the moderators allow another new thread unless it belongs elsewhere. This one is on weapons discovered after 'digs'. Hopefully members can show their prized items that have either been renovated or are 'as is'. Some people hate the fact that work is done to the item but personally I have no issues with preservation, repair and enhancing cosmetically. Keen to hear all opinions!! Mark

DSC05271.jpg

DSC05272.jpg

026.jpg

Have a few more relics to show but they are currently under 'restoration' processes. If anyone is interested in a vickers MG relic pse email and I will display, but i am intentionally keeping my threads to Imperial!!! ;)

Mark

Phew at least one ally! In my limited experience Brian the item at least almost always requires some stabilising and/or further rust deterioation. I am not a scientist but some French 'diggers' use an acid to halt the rust and actually enables some pretty amazing cleaning. However that does make it go black. So unless any of the members know a way to halt decay without changing the colour I for one would love to know. My new good condition butt stock on this one will give way to a more ''used'' condition when I find one so i do understand that in terms of true representation it is false. At the end of the day the black spray paint I use (for outside gates) can always come off.

Mark

You've gone a bloody good job there Mark.

I've only ever restored one gun and then not fully, it involved making the barrel straight otherwise I leave everything as is, It was actually a gun my wife found after being bored at a militaria fair on the Somme, she wondered off down the road and came back with a joyful bundle of goodies.

Tony