Jump to content

Recommended Posts

On 20. 03. 2018. at 17:40, 922F said:

Last one may be a Norwegian St. Olav first type [1847-1906] Civil Divison, Knight First or Second Class.   Is that an Order of the Zähringer Lion preceding it?

Yes, the second to last medal seems to be the Order of the Zähringer Lion.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Medal bar:

• Eisernes Kreuz 2.Klasse
• Roter-Adlerorden 4.Klasse
• Kronenorden 3.Klasse
• Rote-Kreuz-Medaille 2.Klasse
• Dienstauszeichnungskreuz
• Rote-Kreuz-Medaille 3.Klasse
• Südwestafrika-Denkmünze in Stahl
• Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtnismedaille (Centenarmedaille)
• Königlich Bayerischer Militär-Verdienstorden 3.Klasse mit Schwertern am Bande für Kriegsverdienst

• Herzoglich Sachsen-Ernestinischer Hausorden, Ritterkreuz 1.Klasse mit Jahreszahl 1914

• Herzoglich Anhaltisches Friedrichkreuz am grün-weißen Bande
• Großherzoglich Badischer Orden vom Zähringer Löwen, Ritterkreuz 1.Klasse
• Herzoglich Braunschweigischer Orden Heinrichs des Löwen, Ritterkreuz 2.Klasse

The shine on the medals is really high and it's hard to get good look at them in this photo.  However this photo appears to have been taken at about the same time period as the first photo in this thread.   Thanks to Dave's list of awards, we can extrapolate their identity in this photo (with just a slight difference in the ordering). 

In my opinion, that last medal is the Braunschweig Order of the Lion -2nd Klass

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites


Johannes Fischer was a Sacred Heart priest

Not sure what the bottom award is.



Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Fischer's lower cross looks like Vatican's Pro Ecclesia Pontifice  Cross, established by Leo XIII, July 17, 1888. 


As to Schlegel--maybe a Bulgarian Military Bravery Order 4th class, 2nd division with swords just before the Ernestine.   

Edited by 922F

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)



Dr. Nikolaus Anton Foohs, priest of 3rd bavarian Inf.Div.

Wounded badge for two wounds, EK I and EK II, MVO4 with crown and swords, Prinz-Luitpold-Medal


Rupert Mayer, priest of 8th bav. Res.Div. ("man in the mirror")

EK I (first german priest with EK I) and II, MVO4, Würtemberg order of merit, austrian Franz-Joseph medal


b.23.Inf.Rgt. (Rgt. Stab, Feldgeistlicher, Divisionspfarrer Foohs).JPG

b.8.Res.Div. (Stab, Pater Mayer) - Kopie.jpg

Edited by The Prussian

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...