News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

I'm no expert but it looks to me like a policeman's uniform. I'm sure others will do better but I mostly had to have a bash at this because I too am in Oakville, as at least one other member on board here. Good luck getting better info and welcome to the site.

Colin

Edited by ColinRF

There are two clues in this photo.

First the collar serial "459" which would suggest that he is an officer in a larger force.

Then there is the first aid badge on the tunic sleeve. It would seem that the cross is a saltire (the symbol of the St Andrew's Ambulance Brigade) rather than the Maltese Cross (the symbol of the St John's Ambulance Brigade) which suggests a Scotch force.

The puzzle keeps growing. I found this in old family photos with "my dear Dad": written on the back. I thought I knew who it was but the family is German and Irish. I need to keep digging. Anyone have any idea of dates for the uniform. I thought the belt might be a clue.

MJ

Looks 1920's to me from cut and hair style. He coud be an Irish flatfoot I suppose. Suggest you re-post him in the police section where the experts can weigh in. See first topic under special interests on main page.

Colin

Edited by ColinRF

"The puzzle keeps growing. I found this in old family photos with "my dear Dad": written on the back. I thought I knew who it was but the family is German and Irish. I need to keep digging. Anyone have any idea of dates for the uniform. I thought the belt might be a clue.

MJ"

Just as up to 30% of the British Army in the 19th century was Irish, British [and, I suppose, Scottish] police forces were full of Paddies. There is a particularly offensive Irish folk song called "The Mountains of Mourne" in which the bumbkin Irishman arrives in London and writes home to his girl about the great goings on:

Oh Mary this London's a wonderful sight