News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Unknown Chinese (Taiwan?) Red Cross Medal

oamotme

Gentlemen,

I recently obtained, in an assorted lot of British family medals - father and son, a Red Cross medal - unfortunately no documentation. Can any of you identify this for me? Is it a scarce piece and what is the period of issue?

Many thanks,

Owain

Owain, I'm no expert, but that has never prevented me from having opinions. Based on a little bit of knowledge, my speculation is as follows:

1) The medal doesn't appear in Peterson (the basic source), the current MND website nor in the MND ribbon chart I got in Taipei in the '80's. Hence, I think it is not current MND issue.

2) It includes the map of China which appears in several other Chinese medals shown in Peterson, hence definitely Chinese from one side or other of the Strait of Taiwan. I can't read Chinese, but can recognize the name "China" and the number "10" on the top line in the center. I doubt that it's warlord, probably central government.

3) The hook on the back of the ribbon is not typical for most Chinese medals. I've never seen it on Chinese medals before. However, it is typical of Japanese medals. Suggests a wartime occupation issue.

4) If forced at gunpoint, I would date it between mid '20's to 1949 (Mao's takeover).

Is there anything unusual about the top of the ribbon?

Best,

Hugh

Look what I just found on the OMSA website! They identify it as "CHINESE RED CROSS MEMBER BADGE". The similarity of the ribbon suggests to me that your cross is a different class (higher?). Maybe the Grand Panjandrum?

As I said, the hook and eye is reminiscent of of Japan. Perhaps an obvious question, but was the recipient Chinese? or ???

B19-1202.JPG

Edited by Hugh

Hi Gents!

This is certainly Chinese red cross merit order (made in silver by the way ;))