News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Help with information about 20th Hussars 1908-14 including Ypres

Hello!

I am trying to find out more about my great grandfather, Herbert Hallett (pictured in my profile). He was in the 20th hussars and died in the first battle of Ypres in Oct 1914. I'm not sure exactly when he joined, born in 1880, his wedding certificate of 1908 lists him as a railway labourer by profession. On the back of the certificate however is a 'stamp' from (Cavalry Records Hussars York for the date of 5 May 1909), would this indicate the date he joined the regiment? Also, his marriage certificate states that he lives in Brighton, older relatives of mine think he met his wife whilst stationed at Lewes road barracks? Does this link with the 20th hussars at all?

Help!

Does anyone have any group photographs of 20th hussars from this period?

Thanks

I also have another photograph of him in uniform, with the marking of 'Caire, Egypt' at the bottom (attached) when would this have been taken? Is he wearing medals? If so what would they be for?

Good Morning.......

He is listed as serving in the Boer War.....

Therefore the medal......

Hallett, H., 4649, Private, 20th Hussars, Orange Free State,Transvaal, South Africa 1901,South Africa 1902.

Mike

Hi Mike,

Well I must say a big thanks and I am very suprised by that news! How did you find out, is there anywhere I can see this evidence? This is a real development, can you shed any light on why he would have put 'railway labourer' as his profession on a wedding certificate?

Thanks

Adrian (Great grandson)

Hi Mike,

Well I must say a big thanks and I am very suprised by that news! How did you find out, is there anywhere I can see this evidence? This is a real development, can you shed any light on why he would have put 'railway labourer' as his profession on a wedding certificate?

Thanks

Adrian (Great grandson)