News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Cross of St. George 2nd class: ЖМ-variant with s/n 206,446?

Leclerc

Dear friends,

I'm looking for a Cross of St. George, and the other day I stepped over the following one:

http://i748.photobuc...elics/a4771.jpg

http://i748.photobuc...elics/a4772.jpg

I'm not an expert in these medals and the probability to buy a fake is very important. Therefore, I'd be very grateful for your help. I know the "XM" punch means it's a "cheap" 1916/1917 variant made of "yellow metal" instead of gold. But as far as I know, only 20,000 2nd class crosses made of yellow metal were produced, and they have a s/n from 65,031 to 85,030. So my question is, how is it possible that this one has the s/n 206,446? I can't imagine a forger would be so dumb and make such a mistake. Do you have an explanation for this? If it's an original, what would it be worth?

Then concerning an other Cross. of St. George:

According to the seller, this original one was awarded during the Russian civil war and is made of silver. Do you agree? If it's an original, what would it be worth?

Thank you very much for your help.

• 2 weeks later...

Unfortunately, the seller says his camera doesn't allow him to take bigger pictures that are not blurred. :unsure:

But did you try to click on the pictures above? They get a bit bigger.

Here are two more of the same cross.

Thank you very much for your help.

Unfortunately, the seller says his camera doesn't allow him to take bigger pictures that are not blurred. :unsure: