News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Mle 15 - remove rust while keeping the original colour

Hello,
    Does anyone have an idea of how to remove the darker patches of rust on this helmet without making it look as though it’s been rubbed down with sandpaper?
    I was thinking either a low grade wire wool or aluminium foil with some WD40, has anyone tried these methods? A good 50% of the original blue colour is still present and the helmet is more solid than it looks. I don't want to do a complete restoration, I'd just like to clean it up a bit.
    Tony

WD40 and very fine wire wool i think should be ok....

I am not an expert and Chris has probably done this once or twice, but I would think anything abrasive - no matter how fine - would be a bad idea.

A quick Google search came up with this: http://www.german-helmets.com/RUSTY%20SURFACES.htm

Maybe helpful.

Thanks for the replies.

After looking at the link I should probably leave it as be but, and there's always a but, as I only paid A$10 for it I'm going to try a little 00 grade wire wool with oil on a spot somewhere where it doesn't really notice.

I did try aluminium foil with oil on my old 1950s push bike, it came up ok but not brilliant. I'll post a pic of the result when I have the time to do it.

Tony

Hi Tony,