News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

The World of Research In General

Not sure if this is the appropriate place to post this but perhaps Paul can move it if required.

So there we were a few years ago, possessing all kinds of awards but no research available. Then the archives opened up. Suddenly a great joy as we could now research awards. The cost was sky high though but we paid it anyway. Over time, the cost dropped dramtically. Ultimately, middlemen in Russia/Ukraine, were making a huge profit from us dumb westerners. This is a fact and cannot be refuted.

Now the cost of research in the Central Archives is less than half of that from years ago. Many thanks to Ferdinand for being the most honest of those who ever offered the service-best prices also.

I have had extensive experience in conducting research. It appears that whether army, navy, partisan or KGB, there exists sub archives within all of the archives mentioned. New doors are opening up as time progresses. Good luck though on KGB and labour. : (

I have a question for JapanX and perhaps others who might know. For years in Podolsk, was/is the going rate there $30 or $40 for record card and citation (ie., for those living there)?

Anybody else have any research lamantations or experiences that they want to share?

A

It should be noted that for every 5 research conducted, Ferdinand will provide a CD of him singing Katyusha while playing the banjo. I'm not sure if this was a limited time offer or not. Perhaps he can confirm?

When I was in Padolsk in 1996, the prices for research available were listed in the front froom. It was nothing compared to what I was actually paying. But that was many years ago and so much has changed since then...