News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

my italian medal and insignia display.

Metal? 99% after WW2. I'm not an expert in this field, but the paratroops use a parachute since 1970, more or less, before that year they had a gold wing with a sword, like your. The pale blue background is normal for the paras, while the white with a red line in the middle was the collar tab of the "Bologna" division. I can't explain how these simbols are mixed together, may be I can ask in an Italian forum. Could you post a bigger picture of the tabs?

Hey rich. I'm going to agree with Claudio on this. The medal insignia are post WW2. And yes claudio, here are the close ups. Is it possible that a parratroop division is based out of bolonga?

20140307_125543_zpsoecljyo2.jpg

20140307_125617_zpszlfxknij.jpg

The Guardia di Finanza collar tabs are still in use. We call them "fiamme" (flames) due to their shape. "Fiamme gialle" (yellow flames) is another name for the Guardia di Finanza.

Well, now i place a question in an Italian forum about the paras tabs. Stay tuned.

Well, I got the answer. Not a para badge, just a strange mix of Italian Army story.

In that years the old regiment-division structure was changing in battalion-brigade-division.

The old "Folgore" paratroop division does not exist any more, it is an ordinary army division, still using the old tab (sword, gold wing, blue background).

The 40th brigade "Trieste" is part of the "Folgore"

The 40th regiment "Bologna" (tabs: red line over white background) is changed in 40th battalion "Bologna" and becomes part of the "Trieste" brigade; its tabs become a mix of the old regiment and the new division structure, thus creating yours.