News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Unknown Hospital ship , location unknown.

A long shot - would anyone have any id on this hospital ship and the location ?

I found it in an old wallet belonging to my father , no date or note on the reverse.

name of the ship can almost be made out , Manca or manco ??

I cannot be 100% certain.

Unfortunately I have no background information on the photograph.

If anyone is intersted I can send a higher resolution jpeg to them.

Mail me to james@cameron8888.fsnet.co.uk.

Thanks to all in advance.

james S

Could it be one of the US hospital ships from the Korean war? I can't remember their names, unfortunately...

The (green) stripe between the crosses indicates a military hospital ship (as opposed to a civilian hospital ship).

/Mike

Mike,

Thank you for the info on the ship.

I had no idea about the colouring to denote a militray ship , none at all.

My father had no connections with Korea so i am inclined to think this must be a WW2 photograph .

Thanks again for you reply, much appreciated. :beer:

Could it be one of the US hospital ships from the Korean war? I can't remember their names, unfortunately...

The (green) stripe between the crosses indicates a military hospital ship (as opposed to a civilian hospital ship).

/Mike

99% sure this is the RFA Vessel 'MAINE', the second to have the name. A lot older than you probably thought

MAINE

[attachmentid=30197]

Built: 1906 by D&W Henderson & Co. Ltd., Glasgow.

Tonnage: 4,688 grt.

Engine: Single screw, Triple expansion by builder, 12.5 Knots.

Built for Harris & Dixon & Co. Ltd., as Heliopolis and purchased by the Admiralty for conversion in 1913 at Pembrokeshire Dock. Initially called Mediator but on the wrecking of Maine off the Isle of Mull in 1914 was renamed Maine. She proved unsuitable for the work required and was sold back to her previous owners in 1916.