News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Waterloo Medal - Research Start Point

Hello,  I am a veteran medal collector but I am very new at collecting British Medals.  I recently purchased this 1815 Waterloo Medal named to a soldier in the 1st Regiment Dragoon Guards.  I am very excited about this medal because it is the oldest medal I have in my collection and most expensive.   I am withholding the recipients name because I know that there are some people who are very helpful who tell me everything I would want to know about the soldier but I would prefer to do the legwork myself in order to get the experience in researching British medals.  With that being said I do need some help with a starting point for my research and was hoping that someone could please point me in the right direction.  

Thanks in advance!

John 

1817 Waterloo Medal.jpg

John

Can you show an image of the naming as there are many renamed specimens around (mainly because wearing a waterloo medal in the pub in the early to mid 19th century was a good way of getting a free pint). If the naming is fine he will be on the roll and then more research can be done. The medal itself looks fine.

All the best,

Paul

Hello John,

it really would help us give you advice on where to look if you provide the mans name and Regiment.   Pictures of the naming would be very helpful.

However, you might start with whether or not your man is on the Waterloo Medal roll.  Like many, I have the roll and could tell you.  If you want the fun of checking yourself and seeing a copy of the roll, then you should start with the Waterloo Medal Book at the National Achives online, Kew:

http://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/browse/r/h/C2206965

Owen

Hello John!