News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Grenadier Bearskin cap, regulations of 1768, 59th Regiment of Foot

The second grenadier cap is the 1768 pattern Bearskin, which may be a drummers bearskin given the metal drum at the rear.   50th Regiment of Foot, as depicted by the Roman numeral 'L' on the rear panel and the number '50' on the drum.   Does anyone have any experience of original bearskins to offer views?

Mike

IMG_2804.JPG

IMG_2805.JPG

IMG_2806.JPG

IMG_2807.JPG

IMG_2808.JPG

IMG_2809.JPG

IMG_2810.JPG

IMG_2811.JPG

IMG_2812.JPG

More photos

IMG_2866.JPG

IMG_2867.JPG

IMG_2868.PNG

IMG_2869.PNG

IMG_2870.JPG

IMG_2871.JPG

IMG_2872.JPG

As I've said on the thread with the other cap, I am no expert on these and can only offer an intelligent (I hope) opinion. I do know for a fact that these helmet plates have been very well copied, also that about ten or fifteen years ago there was one of these in one of the more respectable military auction houses which was mysteriously withdrawn, the word "on the street" being that it was a complete fake. The fur on this one looks oddly new and in extremely good condition. If I had to venture an opinion, I'd say I don't have confidence in it.

The current owner of these helmets is a 30 year collector and has one of the world's best collections of very high end (ie, Generals helmets, rare regiments etc) Imperial German helmets.  He is currently bowing out of the collecting hobby and is handing the entire collection over to British and German auction houses.  I intercepted these two hats!