News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Need help Panzer badge

Hi guys!

Im just getting started in this hobby and need some help. Thinking of buying this one but is it a real one or a fake reproduction?

What is a reasonable price for it?

Thanks in advance

thumbnail_3307134c-a758-4b93-bb1f-01f8296e8bac.thumb.jpg.34ee4e1ad01c39eb1517a6bf5e55b905.jpg

Edited by nero13

Nero

30 years ago when I was actively involved in buying medals and badges, the wisdom on the street was that 30- 50% of the WWII German stuff on the market was repro/fake.  I can't imagine that the % has gone down!  No easy answer except to talk to people you trust to be honest and experienced in the field and resist - its very hard! - the urge to buy quickly.

I have no idea whether this is a good one, but there are lots of experts and lots of examples out there.  Here are two sites which m,ay shed a little light on the question.  Good luck with your collecting!

Peter

http://quanonline.com/military/military_reference/german/german_replicas.html

"AS" (Adolf Scholze) has a particular reverse setup....this badge does not have it.  Going on the pic's supplied, and the fact that the details look to be soft, I would go for it being a cast copy (fake). The case, IMO, has been made to give the badge/story a little more credence. 

Have a look at the original example of a Panzer Assault Badge by "AS" posted below.

5a329f3695f93_Aspab.JPG.057431f8d8c23bcf83910833d93c86e2.JPG

2 hours ago, Bayern said:

I am not 100 per cent convinced of forgery . but in doubt ,better not buy.

Hi Bayern, I'l slam the door on this badge right now, it's a poorly executed fake.  Scholze had two distinctive patterns of PAB's and this one matches neither.