News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

looking for an original Pour le Mérite award

hi there!

as told previously I'm new in imperial collecting. reading a lot all around to learn as it seems to be a faked field as TR items are. looking around for a PLM award. I'm not interested in the more expensives ones, mainly because I can't afford them. but I read about 30's made replacement awards. they seem affordable to me but I'm aware of the large amount of copies.

where can I get info about these last?

what do you think about this one??

https://www.weitze.net/militaria/03/Preussen_Orden_Pour_le_M_eacute_rite__296303.html

Dear Pep

In my honest opinion buying a replica is a waste of money. I'm not really a fan of Weitze, whether it's his prices, the selling of fakes as genuine pieces or the fact that he splits groups. Paying 1650 euro for a replica is a waste of money, you can get 10 EK1's or 6 BMVO4X's for that kind of money.

Kind regards, Laurentius

yes. I agree concerning weitze.

I understand by you reply that weitze's one is a fake. not even a copy from the 30's for everyday use ...

does these private purchase awards from the 30's exist??

Dear Pep

I know of cases going as far as 1957 of veterans buying PLM's. The last living recipient of a military PLM is ernst Jünger, who passed away in 1998. So it is most certainly possible that a piece made in the 30's was worn by a veteran of the first world war, this replica sold by weitze might even have been worn by a veteran, it certainly has some damage here and there that can account for that. All I'm saying is is that buying an expensive replica is a bad idea, and that it is better to wait untill you can buy a genuine piece. You never know what the future brings.

Kind regards, Laurentius