News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Information on a Met tunic

Firstly, I must just say hello as this is my first post. I am a serving Metropolitan Police officer of 22 years. I have done my fair share of street work but have also done Diplomatic Protection (DPG) & Royalty Protection.

back to this topic, I was hoping someone could help with some information on a police tunic I'm just about to aquire. I still need to sort some pictures and work out how to post them so forgive me for not posting any at this time.

The tunic is apparently a Met high collar type and comes with a helmet with the King George helmet plate so must be dated between 1936-52?

That being said, the tunic has four (4) Met buttons on the reverse, two (2) at waist level and two (2) at the bottom on the tail. Is this correct for a Met tunic of that date?

lastly, the collar number is 689.K which I think was West Ham division. Could anyone give me some history of this officer as I would love to know a little more.

Thank you for any information you can give me

Dave

image.jpg

Edited by David68

Nothing apparently wrong with the tunic or helmet. It appears to be of the pattern called the No:- 1 tunic/uniform which was worn on ceremonial occasions through to 11th November 1972 (think I have the date correct), when they were withdrawn.  If you look inside the sleeve you should find some stamping in blue ink (The letters "MP" and the Crown together with a year). The year shown is that in which the tunic was issued. The helmet would have been worn (quite correctly) with the tunic. If you look at archive photos/film of the Queen's Coronation, you will see that this tunic and helmet were worn on the day by Metpol. Sergeants and Constables. Hope this is helpful.

Dave. 

Ps. Forgot to mention that the tunic would have been worn with a black leather "snake" belt.

Edited by Dave Wilkinson