News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Need help ID'ing this picture

Hauptmann

Hi all,

I'd posted this in the Valuation and ID forum to start with but no response so far. This is actually a project I'm doing for a friend of mine. I'm trying to get any information on this picture that I can. It's from a print block she owns.

I believe I've correctly ID'd these as officers of the United States Army circa early 1900's but I'm far from an expert in this area, hence my wanting to post it here. :D

Again I'm not positive but it seems the officer seated in the center is wearing what I believe is the aguillette of a Presidential Aide. If so, I wonder if it's possible to identify that individual, or any of the others or perhaps even what they are doing together.

It seems that some of them, the younger officer to the left especially, are wearing what appear to me to be shooting medals or a similar type of sporting or competition medals. I've also made semi-educated guesses on ranks, etc. based on the limited references I have on hand. I know that there were comparatively few medals given by our government at that time and feel it would be a stretch for that young an officer to have been awarded quite that many actual medals and his seniors so few.

The one on the far right also appears to be wearing some sort of armband... perhaps he was a referee at the "shooting" or "sporting" event the others participated in. At least that was my guess.

I'm hoping one of the experts here :cheers: can confirm or deny my guesses and perhaps even ID some of these individuals, etc, and perhaps even give a rough idea of the value of this print block.

IPB Image