News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

• Replies 52
    • Created
    • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

• 2 weeks later...

Wingen's are the only maker I have seen that has the gilt finish I like. Here is mine picked up many years ago. Gilt eagle and all fittings on both dagger, scabbard and hanger. I have used it as my Avatar on the forums for 5 years now.

The Marine SA is an interesting branch of the SA (as are most of its branches) for me. I've been researching the SA for many years, and have yet to find any period information (either RZM documents or advertisements, other sales advertisements, dagger pricelists or catalogues, NSDAP handbooks, other NSDAP official uniform guides, private SA uniform regulations or uniform references, color images, etc.) pertaining to a special dagger or daggers for that group. I've seen, over the years, both the all black and the gold plated examples in veteran lots, but never with any connection to the Marine SA. Has anyone any period documentation that either gilted or all black daggers were to be worn? I know that they definitely were not worn by the rank and file of the Marine SA, but it's certainly possible that here or there specially finished pieces were produced for presentations in very limited numbers.

Erich

Good to see you here Erich. I think long ago we had the same discussion. I too have not seen references to it bring Marine SA. I do know that "coppery" finishes are found consistantly on Anton Wingens. A collector should be suspiciuos of any SA purported to be Marine SA. As with Wingen it is reasonable that other makers made gilt SA's and they should occur in batches as this would not normally be an individual thing but a group purchase. Like I said, most of these that I have seen, I would not own just based on the color alone for fear it was post-war. The color is unique.