News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

royal dragoons helmet

http://gmic.co.uk/uploads/monthly_03_2013/post-10499-0-58180700-1362163272.jpghttp://gmic.co.uk/uploads/monthly_03_2013/post-10499-0-39527800-1362163289.jpghi guys is this 1871 pattern ,any info welcomehttp://gmic.co.uk/uploads/monthly_03_2013/post-10499-0-16917500-1362163234.jpghttp://gmic.co.uk/uploads/monthly_03_2013/post-10499-0-36183300-1362163243.jpg

mervyn ,im sorry not trying to undermine anyone,i just found it interesting to get different opinions,as they vary from one forum to another,the dragoons helmet for instance ,one forum says or another says officers ??,just trying to learn, im no expert which is why i joined....regards kev

I don't see any problem in looking for opinions and advice on a number of forums.

Anyway, It's an 1871 pattern 6th Dragoon Guards (Carabiniers) trooper's helmet. What's left of the lining is trooper style leather lining rather than the officer style quilted cloth or silk, and the helmet is in brass and white metal rather than the gilt and silvered metal of an officer's helmet. No officer plate would be worn by polishing like this one.

Patrick

Kevin - that is an unnessary step - no one wants you to leave. In fact you have posted some very interesting items. However, it came as

rather a shock to find that we have become part of a 'panel'. There is no problem with being on other forums - or, in consulting them. The

more information the better. Your decision. Mervyn

Hi Kevin: