News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Damaged LOM received

Sivart

I recieved this named LOM the other day in the mail. The suspension ring had been stretched out and was entirely removed from the ribbon. The medal itself and case are in great shape for a 50's era item. Would you simply attach the medal back to the ribbon and press the ring back into place or return the whole thing? How fragile are these rings, I have little experience with these medals? Pictured is the medal as advertised and then as arrived. Any advice????

Sivart :cheers:

Guest Rick Research

:Cat-Scratch: Agh-- you SCARED me-- I thought you meant the suspension struck in one piece with the star itself!

That little wire ring is no problem... easily bent back together. If you are careful with pliers it won't even show scratchs.

PS Bend that wire ring to shape all by itself FIRST and THEN with a little opening "front to back" not "side to side" SLIP it onto the suspension of the star and wiggle it through the ribbon while you still have a gap and THEN simply flatten the wire ring so it doesn't slip out.

Don't go trying to squish the wire ring into shape with it looped THROUGH the star suspension! :shame:

:Cat-Scratch: Agh-- you SCARED me-- I thought you meant the suspension struck in one piece with the star itself!

That little wire ring is no problem... easily bent back together. If you are careful with pliers it won't even show scratchs.

PS Bend that wire ring to shape all by itself FIRST and THEN with a little opening "front to back" not "side to side" SLIP it onto the suspension of the star and wiggle it through the ribbon while you still have a gap and THEN simply flatten the wire ring so it doesn't slip out.

Don't go trying to squish the wire ring into shape with it looped THROUGH the star suspension! :shame: