News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Gentlemen (and Gentle-damsels);

I am studying the Pionier=Offiziere that fought at Gallipoli and am finding some tantilizing relationships. However, as you probably know, there is not a lot of information on German forces there, and also I am running out of relevant research materials, especially compared to the wonderful resources some of the Pals possess. So I will post some findings and questions and see if some of our super-gurus will find this interesting. My own efforts and those of a friend that I cooperate with will hopefully lead to more information on this interesting and difficult to research campaign.

One source states that a "Hauptmann Hildemann" was the commander of the volunteer Pionier=Kompagnie that fought there. This source was knowledgable but wrote about Gallipoli many years later and made some errors. It seems on the basis of many clues that this was a Pionier=Offizier Hildemann, who according to various Ranglisten was an officer of Pionier=Bataillon Nr. 21 of Mainz, which, interestingly, also seems to be the source of other officers that fought at Gallipoli. According to the 1918 preuss. Dienstalterslist he was Leutnant 22. 3. 10 J, and the Patent=datum as Oberleutnant 18. 10. 15 Ss. (It is of course awkward that he only made Oberleutnant three months after he arrived in Turkey!) He survived the war and retired as a Hauptmann a. D.

One clue linking him to other actors is the career of another Hildemann, whose promotion dates were Lt. 9. 4. 77, Oblt. 22. 3. 88, Hptm. 14. 9. 93, Major 13. 9. 99, and Oberstleutnant 10. 4. 06 Dd. In 1911 and 1912 he was in a pioneer staff position working with Oberst Mudra and Gen. d. Inf. Freiherr von der Golz (important decision-makers), and he was a Generalmajor in 1914. There are a variety of links between the two Hildemanns and with other Gallipoli-associated pioneer officers.