News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

WW1 Military Uniform Identification? Red Cross?

Hi all, 

please could anyone help me with any info identifying anything in this photo? Particularly interested in the man seated on far right - I know he was a locomotive draughtsman by profession but we are presuming this photo is from WW1, possibly army or Red Cross judging by the cross on their uniforms? Any observations at all would be appreciated! 

many thanks IMG_9325.thumb.jpeg.e45d67fa8b3d2754abf19aab10d85cec.jpeg

4 hours ago, LMG said:

Hi all, 

please could anyone help me with any info identifying anything in this photo? Particularly interested in the man seated on far right - I know he was a locomotive draughtsman by profession but we are presuming this photo is from WW1, possibly army or Red Cross judging by the cross on their uniforms? Any observations at all would be appreciated! 

many thanks IMG_9325.thumb.jpeg.e45d67fa8b3d2754abf19aab10d85cec.jpeg

hi LMG,

The 3 uniformed are all Royal Army Medical Corps (RAMC). I’m sure the circular Red Cross insignia is uniquely theirs (within the army) as opposed to an armband (with Red Cross) which I believe would indicate men assigned from within units to be stretcher bearers (& medics too maybe?) in that unit.

68733B30-5D88-428C-8028-C02E83A33696.thumb.png.45876cef113fe02642727e3f6d6adb6b.png

A8A65072-F605-4D05-B267-22A4C06886FF.thumb.png.9df7635a0b27757431da0d7621267880.png

👉 The chap on the right as we look at it is a private and has no medal ribbons. His patch can be seen to be stiff still so new on that uniform 👇008D799A-CBD1-4987-BF6B-CF1507874342.thumb.png.226ea41ab8173add95e895512e089ffa.png

👉 The chap in the middle is a corporal (2stripes) and already has several medals so has at least a few years of service behind him.👇

DDE385C9-7295-43C8-A96B-129AA2A913C1.thumb.png.a5f0023b83c6de4d3c91a31b841d45ca.png