News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

What Hungarian award ?

lilo

Hello All,

I'm studying the Full medal entitlement of Lord Baden Powell, the founder of the Scout movement.

I know that on August 1929 He received the so called : Hungarian Order of Merit (please see the below London Gazette entry) :

Whitehall, August 8, 1929.

The KING has been pleased to give and grant unto Lieutenant-General Sir Robert Stephenson Smyth Baden-Powell, Bt.., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O., K.C.B., His Majesty's Royal licence and authority to wear the Insignia of the First Class of the Hungarian Order of Merit, which Decoration has been conferred upon him by His Serene Highness the Regent of Hungary, in recognition of valuable services rendered by him.

THE LONDON GAZETTE, 9 AUGUST, 1929. 5213

Consulting the following web site : http://www.akm.externet.hu/rendjel/adatok/horthy/mer_en.htm, I have understood that in 1929 there was NO an 'ORDER' but a 'CROSS' of Merit.

I know that it is a post WW1 award but I don't know where exactly I could post my 3 questions below, so have thought that the best place is still this one.

1st Question

Am I right in having so understood ?

2nd Question

Was the so called 'Order' of Merit received by Lord Baden Powell of the 'Civil' Division ?

3rd Question

Was the colour of the ribbon of the so called 'Order' of Merit received by Lord Baden Powell in 1929, that of plain GREEN ?

I please everyone that can help me - ALSO WITH A GUESS ? to answer these 3 questions (even with a simple 'yes' or 'not' near each question : it's important to me !

Many Thanks in Advance

Best Regards

Lilo

Edited by lilo

I am going to attempt to answer these questions. This is not a WW1 award the A-H Kingdom was disbanded after WW1. In 1922 the new Royal Hungarian state came into existnace and Regent Admiral Miklos Horthy established new orders and decorations to be awarded for merits.