News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

I have recently seen this item for sale, and I am hoping to start a small collection of antique truncheons from the Police Forces of Great Britain. It is on sale for £300, what do you think, and can anyone tell me about it. I am very new to this, and am currently waiting for the book 'The Policemans Lot' by Mervyn Mitton to arrive, to hopefully help me out. But in the meantime I would appreciate any assistance that you can give.

Thanks in advance

Tim

Hi Tim,

Welcome to the GMIC.

Very nice tipstaff, I've been following this one myself.

In keeping with my own policy of not knowingly bidding against another member I'm out. :cheers:

In my opinion, if you can get this either for the opening bid or a bit hight it will be a good buy.

Please post the results and I hope your new tipstaff when you win the bid.

Regards

Brian

Tim - I wish you luck in acquiring this fine example - and I think it is generous for Brian not to bid. I'm not sure that

is necessary, as unfortunately other bidders won't stand down for you.

The dealer has a very poor idea of what he is selling - he should of read my book................

Firstly, the price. If it goes at 300 pounds, that is a good price for a named item. I would say go to a max. of 400 (?) if

that is within your budget.

The item at 27cm. (10") is a tipstaff - and is typical of Cornish Truncheons and Tipstaffs. Whilst there are exceptions

they tended to have a four sided top - often with four different panels. This one has the post 1816 Arms for George 4th

(1820-1830). Since the Parish of St.Colomb is named - then this was for the Parish Constable. He may well have had a

longer truncheon or, a Staff. Either of these would also have been decorated in the same way.

I see time is nearly up - let us know if you are succesful ? Mervyn