News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Guest Rick Research

Two types of people:

1) reserve officer candidates. This was the normal "career path" for them to get a der Reserve or der Landwehr commission.

2) young men who had enough money to pay for their own uniforms and equipment who did NOT want to serve 2 or 3 years in the ranks as a draftee private. One Year Volunteerss received extra privileges, and I am sure their status got them out of the dirtiest and least pleasant duties when they were, after all, just private soldiers themselves.

Many times the second category NEVER became reserve officers, at least before 1914.

I am not an expert in uniforms, and hardly one in matters of the complex German military bureaucratic system, but the Einjahrigfreiwilliger (did I spell it correctly?) term was not a rank, but was a term for a career path. There actually were two or three variants on this career path, in the course of which the officer aspirant may have held several ranks and displayed a succession of uniform details.

Uniform-wise, the hall-mark of soldiers of this class is the "candy-striping" piping bordering the shoulder straps, very visable in your photos. I believe that men with this status had to pay for their arms, equipment, etc., and probably were not paid, but relied on private funds.

Bob Lembke

Guest Rick Research

Taken 5 October 1910, here are all the One Year Volunteers from Brunswick Infantry Regiment 92 on uniform cleaning duty:

Sitting front left with the pipe was Otto Christian H?gel. Born in Braunschweig 6 January 1889, he served as a 1YV 1 October 1910 to 30 September 1911. He was promoted to Gefreiter 1 April 1911 and Unteroffizier 10 July 1911, which seems about normal for most 1YVs.