News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

Guys,

I think I may have posted this before, but can anyone decipher what's scribbled here?

Many thanks,

Gaffken

Besides the dates, February 27 1916 and December 25 1915 I can read: Zeki Pascha and Eiserner Halbmond

Hardy

I think between "27 .2. 1916" and "Zeki Pascha" is "vom k.[aiserlich] t?rk. Generalleutnant"

In 1918, Zeki Pasha was a General of Cavalry and Adjutant General of His Majesty the Sultan, and Military Envoy Plenipotentiary to His Majesty the German Emperor (at least that's how it appears on the Treaty of Brest-Litovsk).

Dave, Hardy,

Thanks guys--that's fabulous! I understand German well enough, but I've been scratching my head over what this might spell out for several years now, having shown it to a bunch of folks who were equally stumped. I have to admit that my knowledge of the Ottoman forces is also almost non-existent, so I especially appreciate the info on Zeki--thanks Dave! :jumping: That's great attribution!

As for the other unintelligible words, I always suspected the 2nd word in the 3rd line might be something like 'angeben', while the 1st word in the last line might be a location, but it's still anyone's guess. If anyone else has any thoughts, I'd of course appreciate any help... :cheers:

Gaffken

Guest Rick Research

"27.2.16 vom k.

turk. Generalleutt (SIC)

Zeki Pascha ge-

(sch...t?) erhalten

Eisernes Halb-

mond

verliehen 25.12.1915"

That is REALLY bad handwriting!

I can't place Zeki, so no clue what Corps/front this was.

Here it is, the full text. It took Dave, Rick, myself and a couple of beer to decipher this one

27.2.16 vom k.

t?rk. Generalleutn.

Zeki Pascha ge-

schenkt erhalten

Eiserner Halb-

mond

verliehen 25.12.1915

"February 27 1916, received from the imperial turkish Lt. General Zeki Pascha the Gallipoli Star as a gift.

Awarded on December 25 1915"

Regards, Hardy