News Ticker
  • I am now accepting the following payment methods: Card Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal
  • Latest News

German Officers at Gallipoli - A Puzzle

I am studying the German officers who served at Gallipoli. As you may know, it is a difficult topic; most of the German Army records have been destroyed. I have come across an especially confusing question. I thought I might pose it, our resident gurus might find this interesting.

Klaus Wolf's book Gallipoli 1915 identifies a "von Kaltenborn-Stachau" as an Oberleutnant who was with the "Pionier=Abteilung Gallipoli" in 1915, and had to return to Germany with cronic intestinal and heart illnesses. (LTC Wolf has been able to work in the Turkish as well as several German archives, he does have Turkish; I do nor know where he got the above information.) The 1914 preuss. Rangliste lists five von Kalternborn-Stachaus: a Hauptmann (27. 1. 1913 Mm) CO of 1. Kompanie, Infanterie=Regiment (8. brandenburgisches) Nr. 64; an Oberleutnant (18. 08. 1912 H6h) of the 8th Kompagnie, Fusilier=Regiment (kurhessisches) Nr. 80; a Leutnant (14. 06. 05.) with the Garde=Grenadier=Regiment Nr. 1, described as being "k. z. Kr. Akad." on 6. 05. 1914; a Leutnant (18. 08. 1906 H6h) from the Lehr=Regiment of the Fuss=Artillerie Schiessschule, but detached to Berlin for a "Seminar fuer orient. Sprachen"; and finally a Reserveoffizier, Leutnant von Kaltenborn-Stachau, of Infanterie=Regiment (2. kurhessisches) Nr. 82 (II. Berlin).